Critical Areas by Grade

  • Common Core Learning Standards in Mathematics: Critical Areas by Grade


    Grade 3:

    1.    developing understanding of multiplication and division and strategies for multiplication and division within 100

    2.    developing understanding of fractions, especially unit fractions (fractions with numerator 1)

    3.    developing understating of the structure of regular arrays and of area

    4.    describing and analyzing two-dimensional shapes


    Grade 4:

    1.    developing understanding and fluency with multi-digit multiplication, and developing understanding of dividing to find quotients involving multi-digit dividends

    2.    developing an understanding of fraction equivalence, addition and subtraction of fractions with like denominators, and multiplication of fractions by whole numbers

    3.    understanding that geometric figures can be analyzed and classified based on their properties, such as having parallel sides, perpendicular sides, particular  angle measures, and symmetry


    Grade 5:

    1.    developing fluency with addition and subtraction of fractions, and developing understanding of multiplication of fractions and division of fractions in limited cases (unit fractions divided by whole numbers and whole numbers divided by unit fractions)

    2.    extending division to 2-digit divisors, integrating decimal fractions into the place value system and developing understanding of operations with decimals to hundredths, and developing fluency with whole number and decimal operations

    3.    developing understanding of volume